Passport & Consular Services

Who issues passport?

Passports are typically issued by the government of the country to which you are a citizen. The specific agency or authority responsible for issuing passports can vary between countries. In most cases, the passport is issued by a dedicated passport agency or authority under the jurisdiction of the government’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs or Interior.

Here are some common entities that issue passports:

Passport Agency: Many countries have a dedicated passport agency responsible for issuing passports to their citizens. These agencies are usually operated by the government and handle passport applications, renewals, and other passport-related services. Examples include the United States Passport Agency (under the U.S. Department of State) and the Passport Office (under Her Majesty’s Passport Office in the United Kingdom).

Ministry of Foreign Affairs: In some countries, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs or a similar government department is responsible for issuing passports. They may have specialized passport sections or departments that handle passport issuance and related matters.

Embassy or Consulate: Embassies and consulates of a country, located in foreign countries, often have the authority to issue passports to their citizens who are residing or traveling abroad. They act as a representative of the issuing country’s government and provide passport services to their citizens in their jurisdiction.

It’s important to note that the specific passport issuing entity and procedures can vary between countries. The official website of your country’s passport agency or embassy/consulate will provide accurate and up-to-date information on who issues passports and how to apply for one.

Was this article helpful?